Re: Members List display of s2member custom fields

Daine, there are many plugins that store the meta data for users in ways that aren't native to WordPress. As you probably know, WordPress stores meta data for users in its wp_usermeta table. This is where the Members List plugin draws from and it will only draw from strings or numerals in the database. This isn't something that will change as it is my belief that this is how plugin writers should store user meta data because it is the way WordPress intended. Usually I write my own plugins when I need additional fields available for users.

I agree and indeed, the data is stored in the sql table.
The trick is though that instead of many separate custom fields, they only use one field and as I noted, store the custom data in a JSON-encoded array.
In some ways more efficient than creating a slew of fields which may or may not be used but not as easily accessed by folks like me.

And while I have some programming background, I am far from ready to create my own plugins.

DP   

Indeed, thanks...

I was looking through the folders earlier today and suspected that was the one where I needed to be but it is pretty dense for an inexperienced php guy like me :-)
I will see what I can do with it.

Can I ask an unrelated question, do you use a particular program while developing php code?
At the moment I am just using notepad in windows which is obviously not exactly the most useful environment. I mean, it doesn't even have line numbers.
That said, at the moment, I am doing everything on the server so I am not so sure how useful a real php IDE would be.

Thanks, Daine

Daine,

I uses TextPad to do quick editing on the server. Easy line numbers etc.

I also needed to list the members with s2Member and was having the same problem, so this thread has been very helpful.

The key to reading s2Member custom fields correctly in that loop is:

<code>
$customdata = $u->$v['name'];
</code>